• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

383 Wire Looms

RoadRunning

Local time
5:51 AM
Reaction score
Hello, I have a 1970 Road Runner with a 383 engine. I need to route my spark plug wires nicely off the engine. What are some good wire looms that work well? How do I bolt them to the valve covers? Do I need longer bolts? I did purchase the Mopar universal looms P5007481 but now that i received it I see some brackets have 3 some have 4, some have 5, different size holder etc. I just need a good loom that will hold the larger spark plu wires and have 4 slots on the separator. Any suggestions? Please detail how to bolt it off the engine. Thank you!

I'm no expert on this, but you can use the factory style looms (work well) IF you have stock diameter (7mm?) plug wires and stock exhaust manifolds. I believe some of the stock looms go on valve cover bolts and at least one goes on the front side of the head (like where your negative battery cable connects). You should be able to find pictures on line, or better yet, someone with a factory-stock 383 Road Runner might post some pics for you. I also believe aftermarket stock wire looms are made.

Having said all that, and having headers myself, Moroso makes a decent aftermarket wire loom set like what you describe. I've used a Moroso set in the past. (I don't care about being "stock") What I found is that you can mix & match the 3/4/5 slot looms as necessary & you don't have to use every slot on every holder. They work pretty well. I also noticed that since I'm running 8mm plug wires (a little bigger than stock), I had to take an exacto knife and trim the tiny little tabs off inside the wire slots to let the 8mm wires fit without cutting them up on the tiny plastic tabs.