• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

help me put cable TV in my shop

eldubb440

more miracles than Jesus
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
4:18 PM
Reaction score
ok..... so a year and a half ago I buried 1 1/2" plastic conduit and ran an R6 TV cable along with a CAT6 cable for internet. The internet works great, I run to a router and wireless from there.
The run appears to be too long for the TV cable, I didn't do my homework. The cable is about 250 feet, and 300 feet from the main tap.
I now know bypassing splitters is key, and need to go right to the main tap, but am I wasting my time with the R6? will an amp work? I've read about R11...... alot of conflicting info on the net, as usual. Plese hook a brotha up

Hi
I work with Telemetry for a living.
Hmm
Im puzzled because the Cable Companies RUN RG6 for long distances
Sure that have "amps" along the way but remember the first rule of amplifying a signal?
Yup, Amp closest to the dish or source, otherwise WE amplify line noise.
RG stands for "Radio Guide" as that is essentially a frequency being transmitted from one point to another
I certainly do not think 200 or 300 ft is terriblly long
RG6 has an attenuation of something like 0.02 dB per 100 feet at a 10 MHz freq?
(Tech school, Lowry Air Force base, 1979?)
Have you done any research?

A signal booster might help but you might still need the rg11 anyway. If the cat6 is also 300 feet, you're pretty much at it's limit before the speed degrades.

Well,
yes, as Glenwood says
RG11 is (I think) half the voltage drop and less Line loss, dealing with mv of course.

Problem with a Video amp again is your best point of amplification is at the source.
Lots of this somewhere out there.
Good luck