• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Hobbiest

Thebaddawg

Local time
1:23 PM
Reaction score
Hello everyone I used to turn wrenches 25 years ago then had to let it fade into a hobby for a more secure and lucrative career. I'm no expert for sure but I may have tried things others haven't and most of you can probably give 90% more advice from your experience than I. I joined to share my research into successfully fitting 489 gears into the 742 case that all started when someone wanting scrap accidentally threw out my only 489 case.

Welcome, currently have any mopars? If so pictures are the price of entry into the forum. I’m sure @Cranky can answer your question about fitting gears

71 Sebring Plus 510hp 383 ci small block, 06 Charger Daytona #4426 of 5000 and 2007 Ram 2500 650hp 6.7 Cummins

Nope.

Sorry.

Gear sets are case specific, although sure grip units are not.

...and welcome, your story sounds like mine.

After 2 years of vocational auto mech, 3rd place in the Plymouth troubleshooting contest, and ASE cert when I was 18, it only took 1 year of full time employment to learn that as a career, it was not for me.

1507575027249-1328762758.jpg
489 pinion 742 case

People told me I couldn't put 0.060 over 340 pistons in my 360 small block 30 years ago too. They also said I would never get it to run on pump gas or with an 850 spread bore with 12:1 compression and 0.630 lift

Last edited:
1507575794705-1363177776.jpg
I'll type this up to be more presentable and include the rest of the necessary info on how to do it later. Sorry for the crappy photo

Didn't know that could be done,
I knew a buddy that worked at King bearing
that did some stuff like that he could make stuff work,
that I would have never attempted, missed matched stuff..
BUT;