• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Stupid question but I'm curious

JG1966

Local time
10:11 AM
Reaction score
I am a newbie to suspension work so bear with me. I am redoing my front end and factory service manual for 72 RR says "Slide tie rod end seal protector over tie rod end." I can't find anything about these on line, I certainly didn't have them on old tie rods and didn't get them with new tie rods. Is this one of those instructions in FSM that I skip/ignore?

Sounds like some instructions you read in a Haynes or a Chilton.

Do like Snakeoil said. :thumbsup:

Probably a sleeve to protect threads while installing(?) CYA instructions for ham-handed techs.

The front suspension is the same as on my 66 Satellite. I downloaded a 72 Service from MyMopar to see if there is any difference from mine, none. The only nut on a tie rod end is the nut that holds the tie rod to the drag link or ball joint arm. The dust seal goes on first. I could fine the quote you site? It always helps to look at the exploded view of the system your working on. In the MyMopar download page 48 I think shows the exploded view +/- a page. You have to scroll down to Plymouth service manuals.

http://www.mymopar.com/index.php?pid=109

Also at times there's a cardboard sleeve under the nut for shipping purposes to keep dust seal in place; it gets removed before installation.

If your looking at Chilton or non-factory service manual and download one from MyMopar. Then you print out what you need.
PS no questions are stupid. You learn by doing and sometimes screwing up. I know pulling a trans because of my screw up.

Sounds like some instructions you read in a Haynes or a Chilton.

Do like Snakeoil said. :thumbsup: