• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Am Radio help

0DegreeEngineer

Local time
1:14 PM
Reaction score
I am a novice when it comes to radios I need some help understanding the ohm raings on the original equipment. What ohm rating speakers should I use if I am using an original AM radio? Can I put three in dash speakers and two rear speakers with an am system? And if I do what Ohm rating should each speaker be? And can I wire them with regular speaker wire or do I need specific harnesses to make it work?
I just bought a replacement center dash speaker from Electro-Tech for my rebuilt AM thumbwheel radio. Phone orders only because he wants to make sure you get what you need and that it fits your car. I got the speaker in 2 days of the order at $39 + $10 for shipping. It's a quality item and packed well. Make sure you get the 8 ohm speaker if your radio has NOT been upgraded to a modern unit.

I bought my radio from a real nice man named Devin Duke on his Ebay store Devinism. Nicely done, too.

Something like this?
OHMs is a unit of measure for impedance like amps is for current. When wiring speakers like you are wanting do with a radio designed as a mono output and probably fairly low power output (watts); I don't know what the OEM radio was designed to use but I'm guessing you may be asking more out of that radio than it can do. Hopefully someone more knowledgeable will jump in soon. Good luck with the tunes!

A lot of the old Chrysler AM radios used 4 ohm speakers. But in general 4 and 8 ohm were commonly seen in the 60s and 70s. I put replacement 4 ohm speakers in my 66 Satellite and 67 GTX and it works well if not exactly high fidelity.