• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

1 wire alternator swap

JackBEEQuick

Local time
3:58 PM
Reaction score
hey guys, im replacing my failed stock alternator on my 69 Coronet, I have a new 1 wire Powermaster and Im looking for some guidance on what to do with the wires from my old one, (one green, two blue on same terminal, and the ground.) Im going to run a 4awg wire to my starter lug that shares the + battery cable, and reuse the ground cable? . Would I just be bypassing and/or removing those green and blue wires ? is it really that simple? feels like a trap lol thanks guys

alternator.jpg

sorry guys I prematurely posted like a jackass, I found my info on Powermasters FAQ , but instead of removing my post it ill post my findings for others just in case.
"
How do I hookup a one wire alternator if my stock alternator was an externally regulated alternator? What do I do with the regulator and wiring harness?

The only thing required to electronically hookup a one wire alternator is to run a charge wire from the battery terminal on the alternator to the positive terminal on the battery (or any positive battery source). The external regulator can be either totally removed from the firewall or left in place. If left in place, be sure to disconnect the wiring harness from the regulator. The wiring harness has to be disconnected from the regulator or the indicator light on the dash will remain on. NOTE: If the vehicle is equipped with an indicator light, the light will no longer be operative. Please see the following question."

FAQ-Alternators