• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

1976 Plymouth Feather Duster Questions

SaintJ

Local time
4:31 AM
Reaction score
Hi, I’m still learning the ins and outs of classic cars so I wanted to ask about the possible engines a Feather Duster could have?

I found a 1976 Plymouth Duster for sale that needs some work but I’m looking for a Feather Duster so I wanted to confirm it was one before I inquired about it. I ran the VIN on Hagerty and the first picture is what I got for the options this car could be and then when I ran it again on the MOPAR Decoder, the second picture is what I got.

The thing is that, after looking up specs, I didn’t really see this engine model despite Hagerty’s decoder giving that as an option.

Also when going between the FABO and FBBO forums, I’ve seen discussions about how the Feather Duster only came with a 225 Slant Six, not a 318 V8, so I just wanted to know if the car I’m interested in inquiring about is, in fact, only a standard model 1976 Duster rather than the FD I’m hunting down?

And are there any other ways I could distinguish a Feather Duster model from a standard if I’m not that good at recognizing the visible differences yet? Is there a code I should be looking for?

Thank you for your time!

IMG_5816.jpeg

IMG_6383.jpeg

IMG_6384.jpeg

As far as I know the feather duster was a slant 6 only. It was a package designed for fuel mileage. Slant 6, One barrel carb, tall highway gears, fuel pacer light and maybe a few more items. Nothing special.

Slant six only, I think there is a fender tag code but I’m unaware of what it is. Use a magnet:intake manifold, front bumper support, under hood support/brace and rear bumper support should all be aluminum.

Above ^^^. Feather Duster and Dart Lite. I believe had the trunk lid brace in aluminum too.