• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

440 oil dipstick location.

Tuco

Local time
9:34 AM
Reaction score
I’m no Mopar expert but I think the oil dipstick goes into the 440 block right behind the left side motor mount. Mine has a threaded plug in that location. I’ve never seen a threaded hole for the dipstick tube.

What gives?

IMG_1867.jpeg

Last edited:
What is behind the left (driver's side) mount?

Sorry. I meant the left (driver) side.

My 68 engine has it's dipstick pressed into a fit without threads in it. The tube has a step in it to prevent it from going in too far.
IMG_1517.JPG

Maybe it was use in a truck and they didn't have factory plug, so they tapped it for a threaded plug.

My 68 engine has it's dipstick pressed into a fit without threads in it. The tube has a step in it to prevent it from going in too far.View attachment 1712143
Yea. The tube I have has a step or shoulder on it to stop it but it won’t go into the threaded hole. Guess I’ll have so sand it down.

Maybe it was use in a truck and they didn't have factory plug, so they tapped it for a threaded plug.
I was wondering the same thing that someone tapped the hole for a plug.

I was thinking the same. Mine doesn’t have an o-ring. But I could put one on if needed.
I put a small one that gets compressed and held in place when the Motor mount bolts is installed. Not saying it's needed

For race cars that don't use a dipstick you can tap the hole and put in a 1/8" pipe plug. Another answer is it could have been used in a truck which has the dipstick going into the pan so you have to plug that hole.

So I guess the consensus is that it’s the right location I just need to make the tube fit and seal.?