• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

64 727 Torqueflite question

FuryousFrank

Local time
6:11 PM
Reaction score
A 64 Fury has push button shift, but a 64 Sport Fury has a floor shift. Do they both use the same transmission?

The answer is no. They use different valve bodies from floor shift to push button. Then of course there are Big Block & Small block transmissions.

I have a big block 400 stroker. I'm new to Mopars and trying to gain some info!
Then you need a Big Block Transmission. Personal if wanting to use the OEM cable floor shift set-up look for a '65 BB transmission as you won't need to deal with the Ball and trunnion driveshaft and can use a slip type yoke. You would still need the floor shift valve body. If you plan on a manual valve body I would delete the rear pump so you can run a newer torque convertor.. A&A transmission can help you out.

... A&A transmission can help you out.

Don't be overwhelmed. I didn't understand a bunch of what @QuickBpBp said, but I agree A&A Transmissions is one of the few places that will have the parts you need. They are a great bunch. After watching a couple youtube videos on rebuilding a 727, you may be ready to take it on, yourself. A&A will have your parts.

64 T'Flites were cable operated, whether they were p/button or floor shift. Same transmission, same valve body.

If you want a bolt in trans for your 400, you need a 1962-4 T'flite from a 361-383-413-426.

64 T'Flites were cable operated, whether they were p/button or floor shift. Same transmission, same valve body.

If you want a bolt in trans for your 400, you need a 1962-4 T'flite from a 361-383-413-426.
Not correct. I will be MORE specific the rooster comb is DIFFERENT on the valve bodies from Push Button to Floor shift therefore it is a different valve body.