• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Damn fridge quit making ice cubes...

Kern Dog

Life is full of turns. Build your car to handle.
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
5:46 AM
Reaction score
My 2011 Frigidaire quit producing ice a few days ago. I really NEED ice every day to keep my drinks cool since I work in construction.
My first effort was to replace the actual ice maker in the freezer. It is an easy job for the most part. Three course screws, a 4 pin connector and it swaps right out.
New one from Lowes: $50.
Still no ice. Next up....Water control valve. Another easy job, just a few screws, a water feed line and the 2 pin connector. I swapped it out, heard a thooop sound as if the valve opened but got no water in the inside ice maker "tray". The water line to the fridge is moving water. I poured water into the ice maker from a cup to see if it ill freeze and eject the cubes. If it does not eject the ice and refill, what the heck else is there to replace? I am a bit embarrassed to admit that while the system appears simple, I am unable to understand why it is not working. I've "googled" for answers....Some suggest to check the filter. There is no filter.
HELP !

Many times I have found a similar problem to be just the "tube" that passes through the cabinet in the back will freeze a solid chunk of ice, and not let the water into the icemaker. Basically, just take a hairdryer to the termination point of the small line where ends near the top of the fridge cabinet in the back. Once you get that plug of ice to fall in, you are ready to rock. Don't cook, just warm. HTH, Lefty71

this is what Sonny did....
:popcorn2:

I moved it to the garage keep beer in it!:drinks:

buy a new one for the house!

Did you happen to check to see if you had power in the connector?