• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Hemi rebuild?

19 69 GTX

Local time
2:50 PM
Reaction score
Taking apart for a rebuild. I believe engine is stock with stock pistons but won't know for sure until apart. What bearings do you suggest I go with ? If I need pistons what are your recommendations as I want to be able to run 93 octane max. Also what cam is something that will sound good and give me some more hp. Not sure if I should go hydraulic flat or solid flat..Will be running dual quads up top. I have 3.91 gears and will get a custom converter to match what I got. Thanks guys I'm new to the hemi world

20240610_100358.jpg

Any of the name brands of pistons should be fine, Mahle, diamond, etc.
for cam talk to the mfgr when settled on what purpose of engine is.
I vote for hydraulic roller. With zinc issues in most oils, flat tapped can be a problem.

Any of the name brands of pistons should be fine, Mahle, diamond, etc.
for cam talk to the mfgr when settled on what purpose of engine is.
I vote for hydraulic roller. With zinc issues in most oils, flat tapped can be a problem.

Any certain brand cams to stay away from

Normally I'd go roller but not wanting to spend big on the build at this time.

I'm sure it will need bored but try to keep the overbore as small as possible. When you find what it will clean up on then you can look around and see who makes a piston that size. Mopar used to have a good cam selection but now you will probably have to go aftermarket. Take your time on the teardown and keep your eyes open. This will be a fun build since you are using a minimum of aftermarket parts but there will still be trying times. Don't get in a hurry.