• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Need help swapping guts to new steering column

peakandscoot

Local time
3:35 AM
Reaction score
I have a 62 Fury that i have been putting together for several years. 55 years ago my dad converted it from 3 on the tree to push button but left the original column. I hate the fact that it still has the linkage exposed under the hood and the arm on the column. I recently picked up the exterior parts for an automatic column. I have the original column out of the car and the steering wheel off. I don't want to screw this up anyone have any experience with this. Youtube shows other columns but not any old b bodys. some cars they showed you had to cut the wires then splice them back together. Second im assuming once disassembled i will leave the 3 speed linkage out.

I have a 62 Fury that i have been putting together for several years. 55 years ago my dad converted it from 3 on the tree to push button but left the original column. I hate the fact that it still has the linkage exposed under the hood and the arm on the column. I recently picked up the exterior parts for an automatic column. I have the original column out of the car and the steering wheel off. I don't want to screw this up anyone have any experience with this. Youtube shows other columns but not any old b bodys. some cars they showed you had to cut the wires then splice them back together. Second im assuming once disassembled i will leave the 3 speed linkage out.