• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Installing a new wiring harness

Mark1972

Local time
1:41 AM
Reaction score
I'm getting a little tired of constantly fighting electrical demons, and while I should have done this years ago when the car was nothing but a shell, I didn't. This is my 1970 Plymouth Satellite which I put a 440/727 in to replace the old 318/904 combo. There is such a huge difference in price between Painless, and American Auto Wire. $600 vs $1500. I assume somehow it is worth it, but I'd like the input from those of you that have done this job. I do have an original wiring diagram, and at least a reasonable degree of knowledge in wiring.

The easiest harness to install is one from M&H. I have no experience with other manufacturers. But they require a lot of work due to being customizable.

If your car is a factory stock style build M&H factory style harness is the ticket. plug and play. If not I dont know. roll the dice and let all of us here know you take on whatever you chose.

I will certainly post on which way I go. $2000 for a harness(M&H in Canadian dollars)is a lot right now with cost of living here, and I was considering selling the car earlier this year. It's still in storage and with my work schedule this summer, I'll only have the car out a handful of times. I've got a lot to think about. If I do keep it, I'm definitely doing the wiring. Just trying to make the best decision.

I would advise not to go with painless or any of the so called universal kits. M&H is plug and play and exactly what your car needs. I wired a car with a painless type harness. Its now in a plastic bag in the garage. I replaced it with the complete setup from M&H and it took me 2 days. vs 2 weeks cutting and splicing the other one.