• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Backup light switch 68 Coronet

OTOT1

FBBO Gold Member
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
3:02 PM
Reaction score
I do not have backup lights right now. I am new to Mopar and trying to learn as much as I can. How do I get to the reverse light switch? It is an automatic 68 coronet 440. The service manual is not helping me much. Do I need to drop the column?

Its the Neutral Safety switch on the Transmission. There is a 3 wire connector plugged onto it. Make sure the connector is on it and plugged in. Driver side of the transmission its the only wires going to it so its not confusing.

Here is the connector and its wiring.
connector_efef1edcbe709fc72df54b68a644b6a7e61c6f5d.jpg

Here is the location of the NSS

droppedimage_3-jpg.jpg

Its the Neutral Safety switch on the Transmission. There is a 3 wire connector plugged onto it. Make sure the connector is on it and plugged in. Driver side of the transmission its the only wires going to it so its not confusing.

Here is the connector and its wiring.
View attachment 1689416

Here is the location of the NSS

View attachment 1689417
He is asking about the back up light switch. Which in 68 is either on the column or on the floor shift.

He is asking about the back up light switch. Which in 68 is either on the column or on the floor shift.
Umm number 3 on the wiring schematic is the reverse light feed. And as far as I have ever seen the NSS is what turns on your reverse lights. I have not seen a switch in the column or the console. Pretty sure the NSS does the switching. Possibly in 68 but I'm not aware of that. So I may be wrong.

Just found a picture of the switch you are talking about. I stand corrected. :) NOS Mopar Back Up Light Switch 1967-8 All Column Shift Auto Trans - Hiltop Auto Parts