• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

EATING THE ELEPHANT

Amata Bene

Local time
2:38 PM
Reaction score
So I'm gonna put this stuff here, cuz restoring this car is our end goal. Not completely sure how deep it will get. I know just wading in to get it running better got deep fast.
A little history on me and the car. Me: A mechanic - not by a long shot. I'm a welder fabricator by trade for dare I say close to 40 yrs. Do I have good mechanical abilities? Yes. I Have built cars and bikes before, and yes they ran and performed as intended. Doing a restoration is something I have never attempted. So I'm gonna go slow and take one bite at a time.
The car: A 1974 Road Runner. Vin and Fender tag RM21G4G. As some of you have read in other posts, the car was a birthday gift from my wife. (She is a wonderful woman and I am blessed to have her in my life.) She was of the impression the car was original. Not knowing how to do auto archeology she still did very well. So far the only things that do not match the fender tag are the color and the motor, everything else is a match to this point. The interior is complete and still sports the brown carpet. Accessories although limited also match the fender tag. The car was originally a 318 with the 904 light duty transmission painted KT5 (Sienna Metallic). As it is now it has an early "72" 340 (forged crank) and is painted to resemble Y1 (Lemon Twist). Which I absolutely love and intend on keeping.
It's your birthday 2.jpg