• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Eddy AVS idle tuning question.

XCELLR8

Local time
10:49 PM
Reaction score
Have a Eddy AVS 800cfm carb on my stock smogger 77 400. The bottom end is stock with stealth heads, comp thumper cam, performer intake, headers, and AVS carb. I have been fighting this carb's idle on this set up for the 8 years since. It idles if I use the transition slot, but wants to die in gear and when I come to a stop. If I get off the transition slot like it's designed, it wont idle well, if at all. In researching the issue I have too questions. 1. Has anyone drilled holes in the butterflies like I'm reading about? 2. How many turns out on the idle mixture screws is reasonable? The Eddy book states that factory is 2 1/2 turns, but in reading I'm seeing up to 7 to 8 turns. Some do both drilling and lots of turns. I hate to drill unless its needed. I know the cam is the problem but its installed and I see many with bigger cams on here. Thanks

If you don't want to swap the cam, go with a looser converter. My 2 cents.

Chuck (snook)

What is your initial timing set at? With low compression and a bigger cam you need 15- 20 degrees. Make sure there are no vacuum leaks. There is no magic number of turns on the idle screws that will work for all engines, give it what it wants.

If it idles in neutral, but not in gear, things to measure and test are idle speed, idle mixture, engine timing, and vacuum at idle.

I've never needed to drill holes in the secondary butterflies.

I always thought the whole "counting turns of the idle mixture screws" was about a STARTING position for these screws, when the idle mixture is unset, unknown or changed by a carburetor overhaul or engine swap.