• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Help / Carter 4615S Will Not Idle

Gripper

Local time
4:16 AM
Reaction score
1. 1969 Super Bee with 383 Carter 4615S will not idle below 1500 RPMs engine dies because of lack of fuel if you pump throttle it will pick back up and run until RPMs drop back off or you squirt gas down carb to keep running.
If you open idle screws 7 to 8 turns open it barely tries to idle but still quits.
Engine runs fine above 1500 to full throttle position.
I have disassembled carb 2 times cleaned and blew out all passages and never found anything wrong. ( I am not a Carter expert by any means )
2. I installed a Street Demon 625 from another car to see if carb was the problem or some else was wrong.
Engine started right up and idled down to 700 to 800 smooth and steady no problem.
This proves to me the Carter has a problem with it not engine, ignition ect.
I do not know how to get the idle circuit to work ?
3. Any help or ideas ?
If you need more pictures or information let me know.

Thanks Gripper

4615S.jpg

1. 1969 Super Bee with 383 Carter 4615S will not idle below 1500 RPMs engine dies because of lack of fuel if you pump throttle it will pick back up and run until RPMs drop back off or you squirt gas down carb to keep running.
If you open idle screws 7 to 8 turns open it barely tries to idle but still quits.
I have disassembled carb 2 times cleaned and blew out all passages and never found anything wrong. ( I am not a Carter expert by any means )
2. I installed a Street Demon 625 from another car to see if carb was the problem or some else was wrong.
Engine started right up and idled down to 700 to 800 smooth and steady no problem.
3. Any help or ideas ?

Thanks Gripper

View attachment 1699960