• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Mopar 383 roller cam selection

German_Mopar

Local time
7:36 AM
Reaction score
Hi guys,

I am a cam newbie and would aprreciate some help choosing a cam for my 383 build.

1966 Belvedere, 383 4 Speed with a 3.23 Sure Grip, 100% street driven here in germany.
Means 1500 to 5500 rpm...usually cruising.
Car has Power brakes

Engine will have:

750 holley double pumper
440 source heads
Headers
Edelbrock DP4B Intake
Flat top pistons L2315
Compression should be around 9.3 to 9.5 or so.

I want a Roller Cam, no flat tappet.

I was thinking about this cam, but dont know if it is too big or a good street cam that males enough power for the setup.
Needs enough vacuum for Power brakes.

https://www.compcams.com/xtreme-energy-224-230-hydraulic-roller-cam-3-bolt-for-chrysler-383-440.html

Thank you guys.

Claus

That would be a good choice for a shelf grind, no bigger.

I'd advise against the double pumper carburetor for street use.

Without a lot more information, this is hard :)
For a basic street driver... my first reaction is definitely go with a hydraulic and not a solid roller to minimize maintenance. I wouldn't go crazy with duration, so mid 230's low 240's max for low rpm you're looking for. For lift with those heads, you might as well not go lower than .500 (imho). 440 Source heads flow well, so use them. Then it's about LOA and centerline... May want to lean more toward the 110 LOA and 106 CL numbers.

An example could be COMPCams XE series, 23-710-9.

Of course, you'll need new lifters (see Comp 8921-16), new pushrods, and very likely new springs. Double check 440 source specs... Oh, and likely a new 3-bolt timing chain set.