• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

What is that fitting top back of 440 block?

Floating 440

Local time
12:30 PM
Reaction score
Hi all, Newbie here, first post. This seems to be the place to be for Mopar knowledge. I have a 440 that I am rebuilding but I hope it’s cool if it’s not going into an A-body- it’s the original motor in my ’83 Century Coronado Cardel that I bought sight unseen from 3000 miles away late summer ‘18. Although we did use the boat a few times that year, I soon realized that she was a total restoration project. Not complaining as I knew that was a possibility, I enjoy doing it, it’s a pretty rare boat that my wife and I both love, and the price was right. One of the main selling points to me was one of the earlier years that had the 440, as I have always loved the big old Chryslers that my Grandfather always had in the 60s and 70s and always wanted one myself.

So long story short, I am mostly done with the mechanicals, getting to the wiring and plumbing part, and wondering what the brass fitting in the middle of this photo is for. Oil pressure gage? It originally went into a mysterious conglomeration off to the side of mechanical, pneumatic, and electrical BS that I have no intention of putting back. I am trying to simplify everything. Going with electronic ignition, one wire alternator, etc. Am I correct that this fitting is for oil pressure, and if so, I assume I can there is a sending unit I can put right there instead of remotely? My oil pressure gage is electric. Or am I totally off track on what this if for?

Thanks for any help, and thanks to the people that keep this site up and running!
IMG_1260.JPG

Welcome Floating!