• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Gonna Be Driving the Car 650 miles!! Advice???

The Satellite Cometh

Local time
10:01 AM
Reaction score
Guys,

I am totally new at this and admittedly quite apprehensive.

I am driving down to SC tonight to get my 68 Satellite and drive it home about 650 miles back to NJ.

Any advice? I am going to be bringing a ratchet set and screwdrivers, a cooler, and anything else I can think of.

So anyone just chime in and let me know, I would like to draw off the experience in here.

Thanks in advance.

Don:homework:

What kind of shape is the car in? Tool kit, bailing wire, duct tape, electrical tape, extra fuses, spare tire....but if the car is in good condition, you really don't need that stuff but it's nice to have just in case.

The car was in real good condition. Fresh motor swap to a 440 (used, but newly rebuilt). New radiator, new hoses, new carb, new master cylinder, front disc brake conversion.

I am just gonna go over the car, I hope the wipers and lights work. The car was in miraculous shape, dare I say survivor. Kept well stored out of the elements.

I looked into a trailer and it was just too much $$$ because I don't have a tow vehicle. U-Haul wanted .99 a mile. That would be about $1300 - ummm, no.

Hot weather is supposed to break up in Jersey sometime tonight down to mid 70's which is good, but I know SC is gonna be HOTTTT.

Just bring the typical parts that may break, Rad hoses, points, rotor, cap, ballast, fuel filter.

These cars were reliable in their day, no reason to think any less now. I trust the 69 or the 41 more than my 99 Explorer, or 88 Plymouth, cause i can fix them on the side of the road if they break.