• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Transmission pan gasket

sc440

Local time
11:39 AM
Reaction score
I bought the blue Moroso trans pan gasket and just seen where it says to not use with stamped pan. I have a 69 727 with a old direct connection deep chrome stamped pan metal is pretty thick should I get a different gasket or use this one?

If it's a paper gasket, I would say no. I'm no expert, but have always used a rubber/cork or rubber gasket.

I got a Mopar reuseable pan gasket and use it on a stamped pan with absolutely NO leaks!
20230323_092046.jpg
20230323_091951.jpg

If it's a paper gasket, I would say no. I'm no expert, but have always used a rubber/cork or rubber gasket.
It’s a thick silicone rubber with steel core

Properly tightened and if the pan is straight the cork gasket will work fine. The late model Mopar rubber/metal insert works great with the late model 5R46H pan. It's hit or miss with a stock style stamped older design pan. I'm not a fan of the aftermarket rubber gaskets.
Doug

If the Moroso one won’t work I will probably just get a cork it’s what was in there, with no leaks. Just spent $40 on this gasket but didn’t realize they don’t recommend with stamped pan. Just a lot easier to get pan on with this style gasket

If the Moroso one won’t work I will probably just get a cork it’s what was in there, with no leaks. Just spent $40 on this gasket but didn’t realize they don’t recommend with stamped pan. Just a lot easier to get pan on with this style gasket
If your pan doesn't have the dents between the holes ,it should work out. I have used the Mopar black reusable gasket on stock pans with indents for years with success