• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Windshield gasket?

Terry Kitzman

Local time
2:15 PM
Reaction score
Is it worth it to go with Steele rubber products over Sofseal and others? I'm getting ready to install the glass in my 66- Charger, And I'm not a pro.

Can't say much on the difference between the two but will suggest researching how to install it before you dig in. Probably completely different since mine is a 69 but after 3 attempts at sealing mine (they installed it) I gave up on the pros. They never researched it, I bought the recommended bedding compound and got it the first time... Messy as hell!

Pop the gasket onto the car using soapy water and a couple of blunt trim tools. Run butyl rope in gasket channel while having assistant hold zipper/glass channel apart. Install glass into gasket with assistant. Get caulk gun and have assistant peel back gasket from car body using blunt trim tools and apply bead of butyl/bedding compound as close to the fence/gasket interface as possible. Having an assistant is paramount. This is just one of many methods out there. I'm thinking you have a gasketed windshield. If not.....ignore.

I have done it on a 49 chevy truck with split windshield we used a string as you stated. The glass in the truck was flat glass. The thing I would like to know is it worth the extra expense to buy Steele products? Thanks.

My car I roped in the rear glass. The windshield has a zipper style gasket where you install the gasket onto the car and then the glass into the gasket. Later cars bed into an adhesive. Not sure what yours has.

I prefer Precision Products for the window seals.