• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

What's it Worth What is a fair price for a 1968 and/or 1970 383?

69SportSatellite

Local time
7:18 AM
Reaction score
I acquired both of these 383's several years ago, but no longer need them. I would like to part with them and want to be very fair to the next owner. The blue one on the right is a 1968 290HP 2V from a Monaco. The original owner stored it for several years before I acquired it. The orange one on the left is a 1970 383 4V, unsure of the vehicle it came from. I am not a skilled mechanic and can't really determine what condition they are in. But, they need to go ... what would be a fair price?

Thank you!

383 1 of 2.jpg

383 2 of 2.jpg

If you really wanted to be fair, find a buyer and negotiate a price. Or if you need them gone bad enough, give them away! With that said, most guys pull the 383 and replace with a440, unless they are doing a restoration, and in that case, the 2 barrel version will be hard to sell unless the buyer is doing a rebuild and doesn't care about numbers. Anyway, good luck selling. ruffcut

I think the price is somewhat dependent on if they are seized or not.
They both have lifting plates which is a bonus.
Maybe $500 if they rotate.
I don't know how many people would be interested in both.

Pictures of the VIN info on the pad above the oil pan rail would be appreciated.

Unfortunately post #5 is the correct answer. Hopefully, you have two good blocks there, and two good steel cranks.....it all goes downhill from there.....maybe good rods. The reality is that they made WAY more 383's than any other big block, period. They are still lurking everywhere, and almost nobody wants one. Sad really, especially if youd had the pleasure to experience a hopped up one.