• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Help purchasing a seized engine

66bluewhale

Local time
6:36 PM
Reaction score
Found a 383 that is seized. It has been sitting for years with no oil. Front two cylinders removed and the walls look like they need honing. Seller says it just needs a rebuild. What should I ask or be looking for before making an offer?

While I am no expert, I would plan on needing to overbore (and of course hone) the block at the very least. Depending on "how seized" it is, the block could be almost junk. Seized bores can often be brought back by soaking that cylinder (if not at TDC) with penetrating oil.

Others with more experience can maybe speak better to this, but I would be very careful to purchase that engine. There are likely much better engines available...

Im not trying to be smart here, but why bother? 383's are so cheap.

Found a 383 that is seized. It has been sitting for years with no oil. Front two cylinders removed and the walls look like they need honing. Seller says it just needs a rebuild. What should I ask or be looking for before making an offer?
You should ask the seller if you can take it to your machine shop to check if it's a good block, and if it is, you'll give him a hundred dollars for it. That's it.

:thinker:that was what I was just going to post there a dime a dozen ,unless this was a numbers matching one of anything why not pick up another one ? wouldn't even offer what a core is worth .

Depends on how much is their and how rusted. Sight UN seen 100- in weight for #1Detroit iron.